world-building and graphic novel in-progress

Small page-production hiatus

10339428_10100651770179573_318657676419695518_o

So firstly, thank you to everyone who gave me feedback about my recent thoughts on publication for “Tock the Gnome,” and also to everyone who soothed my frustrations. I am very lucky to have followers like you.
After some very, very wise and welcome advice from people who have LOTS more experience than me, I am putting those plans on hold. I still hope to get published sooner rather than later, and I have a good handful of ideas for bonus material when I do publish, BUT I will not be taking the comic offline anytime soon.
I did let myself get way too emotionally involved in this idea, though, and as a result I am finding myself very burnt out and resentful. Impatience and perfectionism is just…. no.
I’m going to be taking a short break (like 30 days-ish) from making new pages, to recharge my batteries. The time that I usually use toward page creation (15 minutes a day, or more if I can spare it) will be devoted to some more lighthearted Tock work – just drawings, like the above WIP.

I will still try to post progress updates, notes, sketches, WIPs on illustrations, etc. on the Patreon page. And a month from today, work on pages themselves shall resume.
Thanks very much for your patience and for caring about Tock and her crew in the first place ❤
P.S. If you’re not caught up or haven’t read it yet, now would be a great time to start!

Leave a Reply

