world-building and graphic novel in-progress

“Rescue Quest” on hiatus

As I mentioned before, current circumstances at my support-job have been really messing with my schedule and draining my energy. This has made it very difficult for me to produce any art work, especially for “Tock.” I’m officially back to Page updates now because I didn’t want to disappoint anyone. But the truth is that the situation has not improved much.

On top of that, I’ve been presented with the opportunity to participate in the “Once Upon a Time” anthology, which – if I get in – means I’d be getting my work published. That would be a first for me, and its a subject I’m really, really passionate about, so its kind of a big deal. The problem is that I definitely don’t have the time/energy to focus on that and continue updating this comic on a semi-regular basis.

Because of all this, I’ve decided to put “Tock the Gnome: The Rescue Quest” on unofficial hiatus, just until my submission for Once Upon is complete. I hate doing this, but I think its for the best and – very importantly – I am NOT abandoning this story or these characters. I still have a lot to say with them and I intend on seeing it through, even if it takes a while.

Submissions for Once Upon are open until March 30, 2012, so we’ll be back to page updates the week after that at the very latest. In the meantime, I’ll still be working on world-building for “Tock,” so please keep watching/reading for bonus posts like that. Also, if anyone has anything they’d like to submit as filler (guest comics, fanart, etc.) please send them to rachelillustrates@yahoo.com, subject: “Tock the Gnome Filler” (thanks in advance to anyone who sends anything in!). And if you’re interested in seeing any of my other illustration work, including design work for my Once Upon submission (if they’ll let me post it), please check out my website/blog, Tumblr, or deviantART sites.

Finally, I want to thank you all for your patience. My circumstances make it difficult to update as regularly as most other webcomics do, but I appreciate each and every one of you that’s stopped in and taken a look. Please keep an eye out for those world-building posts (including the sketch series I started posting last week) and I promise, in Spring, it will be well worth the wait.

~ Rachel

All content © Rachel Marsh. Do not use, alter or redistribute without permission.

Leave a Reply

